MVD FAQs


How do I change my name on my driver license?

You are required by law to notify MVD of a name or address change within 10 days. We are required to verify your Social Security number before your record can be updated, therefore you must first contact the Social Security Administration online or at 800.772.1213 for information on how to change your name on their records. After you have changed your name with SSA, wait two days for their computer system to be updated. You should then visit an MVD office to present identification in both your new and previous names. This must be an original or certified copy (must be certified by the issuing agency) of one of these documents:

  • Marriage Certificate/License
  • Divorce Decree
  • Certificate of Citizenship/Naturalization
  • Court order


How do I apply for an ID card?

An identification (ID) card is available to all ages (including infants) for a fee of $12. For people age 65 and over, or anyone receiving federal Supplemental Security Income disability payments, there is no fee. You may not possess an Arizona identification card and a valid driver license at the same time.

You must visit an MVD office to complete an application and have a photo taken. Begin your application online. If you need to print one, see Driver License / Identification Card Application. You must bring in two forms of identification, at least one must contain a photo, or three forms of non-photo identification. See Identification Requirements for a listing of acceptable proof of identification. One proof must be listed under Primary.

If you are age 18 or under and unable to sign for yourself, a parent or legal guardian may sign the credential in the legal guardian section on the application.


How long does a conviction stay on my record?

A conviction stays on your record for five years from the date of conviction.

What additional requirements are needed for out-of-country vehicles?

Requirements vary depending on your specific circumstances. Contact us for details.

How do I apply for a duplicate title?

When an Arizona title is lost, mutilated or becomes illegible, you, the owner of record, may apply for a duplicate title. Owner name, legal status, lienholder and vehicle information must remain the same. Only the address and/or vehicle location address may be changed.
You must complete a Title and Registration Application, check the appropriate box at the top of the form. Only one owner’s signature is required, regardless of the number of owners or legal status. Bring the completed form to any of our four locations. Photo identification may be required for walk-in customers. The mutilated or illegible title must be surrendered at the time of application, when available; it is not necessary for the owner to sign-off the back of the title. When the record shows a lien, the duplicate title will be sent to the lienholder of record, unless you present a lien clearance or power of attorney from the first lienholder of record and there are no other liens present on the vehicle record.

How can I get a replacement (duplicate) registration/tab?

You may apply for a duplicate vehicle registration and or tab at any of our four locations.
If you visit an office, a photo identification may be requested. If your registration has been lost or stolen and you have reason to believe someone else is using it, the incident should be reported to your local police department.

How do I apply for a bonded title?

First visit any MVD or authorized third-party office to obtain a vehicle inspection. The additional steps needed to then complete the process vary with each situation. At the time of the inspection, we will provide you with a list of the specific actions and documentation required.

How do I add/delete a name on my title?

Use the same procedure as a title transfer. Pay a $4 title fee and an $8 registration fee, if the vehicle is currently registered. If there is a lien on the vehicle that has not been paid off, written permission from the lienholder/lender will be required to add or delete a name.

How do I obtain a trip permit?

If you bought the vehicle from a licensed dealer, the dealer will give you a Temporary Registration Plate that allows you to operate the vehicle for any purpose. If you purchased the vehicle from a private sale, you may obtain a Restricted Use 3-Day Permit which is valid only for the purposes of vehicle inspection, emission testing, repairs needed to comply with inspection or emission rules, or to otherwise complete the registration process. The Restricted Use 3-Day Permit can be obtained online at EZ Permit or at any MVD or authorized third-party office. To operate the vehicle for any other purpose, you must first complete the registration process. No more than three Restricted Use 3-Day Permits can be issued to any vehicle in a 12 month period.

What is a 30-Day General Use permit?

A 30-Day General Use Registration is issued when you do not qualify for a permanent registration or other types of temporary permits. Only one 30-Day permit is allowed per vehicle within any 12-month period. The permit is available online or may be purchased at any MVD or authorized third-party office. The fee is $15.

What is a 90-Day Resident permit?
A 90-Day Resident Registration is generally for individuals who are missing paperwork necessary to transfer an out-of-state vehicle title; two consecutive 90-Day permits may be issued within a 12-month period. The permit may be purchased at any MVD or authorized third-party office. The fee is $15

How long do I have to get insurance after I register my car?

Insurance is required immediately, before driving the vehicle.

What is de-insurance and how do I de-insure my vehicle?

De-insurance is a method of temporarily not maintaining the required insurance on the vehicle until it is ready to be driven or placed on the road again. A de-insured vehicle will not be suspended due to lack of insurance unless it is driven on the roadways of this state. To de-insure your vehicle, complete the online De-Insured Certificate. Once you have submitted the form, the information will be entered onto the vehicle record, within two business days.

I received a notice that my plates and registration were suspended. Why?

A suspension could have been generated for one of several reasons:

  1. MVD has not received proof of Arizona insurance.
  2. There was a lapse in insurance coverage.
  3. There was an accident case opened.
  4. A newly registered vehicle may not have been on system when insurance information was received.
  5. There was a VIN (vehicle identification number) error, either entered into the system incorrectly or provided incorrectly by the insurance company.
  6. You must provide proof of Arizona liability insurance that was in effect at the time of the suspension. Or, if that proof cannot be obtained, you must pay a $50 reinstatement fee and provide current proof of Arizona liability insurance.
  7. Payment may be made by cash, cashier’s check or money order. Some offices accept credit cards. Cash and credit card not accepted by mail. No personal checks accepted.


How can I clear a registration suspension?

You must provide proof of Arizona liability insurance that was in effect at the time of the suspension. Or, if that proof cannot be obtained, you must pay a $50 reinstatement fee and provide current proof of Arizona liability insurance.

Payment may be made by cash, cashier’s check or money order. Some offices accept credit cards. Cash and credit card not accepted by mail. No personal checks accepted.


How do I renew a disability placard?
A renewal notice form is automatically sent to you prior to the end of the five year certification period for a permanent disability placard. You may also complete a Placard Renewal/Replacement Request, have it notarized and then mail it to the address on the form. A new placard will be mailed to you. You may also visit any MVD or authorized third-party office. There is no fee to renew a disability placard. Please see Plates and Placards section for more information.

How do I access a record in the name of a trust or company?

If the vehicle is registered only in the name of a trust, company or other organization, you will need the federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) or the MVD system-generated number assigned to that organization, in order to perform any online transaction (e.g., plate refund, duplicate registration). If you are personally listed on the registration, in addition to the organization, then you may be able to also use your driver license / ID card number

After I pay off my loan, how soon will I get my title from my lienholder?

When a lienholder has credited the final payment, it should take approximately five business days, including mailing time.

My title and lien release are lost. How do I get a replacement?
Contact your lienholder for a replacement notarized lien release. Take the lien release to any MVD or authorized third-party office and apply for a duplicate title. Staple the lien release to the duplicate title.

What should I do when I buy a vehicle from a licensed dealer?

If you choose to transfer a plate to your new purchase, you must provide the dealer with the plate number. You may be eligible to apply a credit or to request a refund. The dealer will assist you with this process and provide you with a form indicating your selection. The dealer will issue a Temporary Registration Plate (TRP). You may operate the new vehicle using the TRP until the new registration arrives in the mail. Then, you will remove the TRP and attach the plate that you transferred from the previous vehicle, along with the new tabs that you received in the mail.

Is my permanently registered trailer eligible for a credit or a refund?

At the time the trailer receives a permanent registration, there are 24 months of potential credit. Each month that passes, the number of creditable months is reduced by one, so that the potential credit will be reduced to zero after two years. You may be eligible to receive a credit or request a refund for fees paid within the last two years.

Where do I purchase a permit for a newly acquired vehicle?
If you bought the vehicle from a licensed dealer, the dealer will give you a Temporary Registration Plate that allows you to operate the vehicle for any purpose. If you purchased the vehicle from a private sale, you may obtain a Restricted Use 3-Day Permit, which is valid only for the purposes of vehicle inspection, emission testing, repairs needed to comply with inspection or emission rules, or to otherwise complete the registration process. The permit is available at EZ Permit or at any MVD or authorized third-party office. To operate the vehicle for any other purpose, you must first complete the registration process

If I sell my vehicle and the plate is lost, am I still entitled to a credit or a refund?

Yes. If your plate has been lost, stolen or damaged, you are still eligible to apply your credit or request a refund. The lost plate may be replaced for $5 when you transfer the credit to another vehicle.

What are the types of vehicle inspections and fees?

Level I
Basic inspection to match the vehicle identification number (VIN) to the vehicle ownership documents to determine the identity of the vehicle. Required only for certain vehicles. Most vehicles are successfully inspected and verified at this level.
Level I inspections are conducted at MVD and authorized third-party offices, or by designated law enforcement officers. There is no fee for a Level I inspection conducted at an MVD office. Third-party providers may charge a fee.

Level II
Secondary inspection is conducted when unusual circumstances indicate that a secondary VIN should be examined. A Level II inspection is conducted by a specially certified ADOT agent. The fee is $20.

Level III
Highest level inspection is conducted by specially certified ADOT agents for restored salvage vehicles, by appointment only. The fee is $50.

Abandoned Vehicle Inspections
Any law-enforcement officer or authorized third-party provider can provide an inspection on a vehicle abandoned on private property.
Additional fees may apply depending on the circumstances.

Inspection and Salvage Vehicles
Additional fees may apply depending on the circumstances.


Can anyone bring my car for an inspection?

Yes, but only if they have a valid driver license.

What is a salvage vehicle?

A salvage vehicle is a vehicle to be titled and registered that had been stolen, wrecked, destroyed by water or otherwise damaged to the extent that the insurance company considered it to be uneconomical to repair and was therefore issued a certificate of title branded/marked as salvage.

What is a salvage title?

A Salvage Certificate of Title is issued to a vehicle that was stolen, wrecked, destroyed, water damaged or otherwise damaged to the extent that the owner, leasing company, financial institution or insurance company considers it to be uneconomical to repair.

What is a restored salvage vehicle?

Restored salvage is a vehicle that was previously issued a certificate of title branded as salvage, but has now been repaired/restored, then inspected for roadworthiness and issued a title branded as restored salvage.

Why is a Level III inspection needed?

To help reduce auto theft, restored salvage vehicles require the more comprehensive Level III inspection that is conducted by specially certified officers. Level III is necessary to verify all major component parts which include front end assembly, engine, transmission, as well as rear end assembly for trucks and truck-type vehicles.

What does it take to pass an inspection?

All equipment to meet the requirements of the road must be in good condition and in good working order.

What documents are needed for an inspection?

  • Proof of ownership, usually a title
  • Valid driver license
  • Receipts or invoices for all component parts that have been repaired or replaced.

Can I purchase a special plate for my motorcycle or golf cart?

Only for these plate types:

  • Regular
  • Military Support / Freedom
  • Purple Heart and Veteran

A Historic Vehicle plate may be ordered for a motorcycle

I already have a disability placard. Can I get another one?

Yes, in some cases. You must request the additional placard in writing and state the reason why the additional placard is needed

Is there an additional charge for the disability symbol on a special plate?

There is no extra fee charged for the disability symbol. You must pay the usual special plate fee and/or personalization fee charged for that plate type.

How do I change my name on my driver license?

You are required by law to notify MVD of a name or address change within 10 days. We are required to verify your Social Security number before your record can be updated, therefore you must first contact the Social Security Administration online or at 800.772.1213 for information on how to change your name on their records. After you have changed your name with SSA, wait two days for their computer system to be updated. You should then visit an MVD office to present identification in both your new and previous names. This must be an original or certified copy (must be certified by the issuing agency) of one of these documents:

  • Marriage Certificate/License
  • Divorce Decree
  • Certificate of Citizenship/Naturalization
  • Court order


How do I apply for an ID card?

An identification (ID) card is available to all ages (including infants) for a fee of $12. For people age 65 and over, or anyone receiving federal Supplemental Security Income disability payments, there is no fee. You may not possess an Arizona identification card and a valid driver license at the same time.

You must visit an MVD office to complete an application and have a photo taken. Begin your application online. If you need to print one, see Driver License / Identification Card Application. You must bring in two forms of identification, at least one must contain a photo, or three forms of non-photo identification. See Identification Requirements for a listing of acceptable proof of identification. One proof must be listed under Primary.

If you are age 18 or under and unable to sign for yourself, a parent or legal guardian may sign the credential in the legal guardian section on the application.


How can I replace a lost or stolen license, and how much will it cost?

You may replace a lost or stolen driver license or identification card online, by phone or at any MVD or authorized third-party office. The fee for a duplicate license is $12. A duplicate ordered online can be sent by express delivery for an additional fee.

If you visit an office, you must have two forms of identification, one of which contains your photo (or three forms of identification, if no photo). Management approval may be required. If your license has been lost or stolen and you have reason to believe someone else is using it, the incident should be reported to your local police department as an identity theft.

See Identification Requirements for a listing of acceptable proof of identification. One proof must be listed under Primary.


How can I get a Motor Vehicle (Driver or Vehicle) Record?

A Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) is the computer printout of a driving or vehicle record. The manner in which driver license or motor vehicle record information may be released is regulated by the Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (or DPPA), 18 USC 2721-2725 as adopted in Arizona law, Title 28, Chapter 2, Article 5.

The DPPA requires you to have a “permissible use” for requesting and receiving an MVD record that contains personal identifying information (e.g., a person’s driver-license photo/image, Social Security number, driver-license number, name, address and medical/disability information). The Motor Vehicle Record Request form lists those permissible uses.

If eligible, you can obtain and print a copy of a record online. You may also obtain a copy by completing a Motor Vehicle Record Request and submitting $3 for an uncertified record (3-year driving record) or $5 for a certified record (5-year driving record) by mail or at any MVD or authorized third-party office. Your signature on the form must be notarized or witnessed by an MVD agent.


How long does a conviction stay on my record?

A conviction stays on your record for five years from the date of conviction.

Why do I have to attend Traffic Survival School?

You may be required to attend a Traffic Survival School for

  • convictions causing the accumulation of at least 8 points, but not more than 12 points, within a 12-month period, with no Traffic Survival School completed in the previous 24 months.
  • a conviction of aggressive driving, moving violation resulting in an accident causing serious physical injury, or moving violation resulting in an accident causing death.
  • the first moving violation of a driver under 18 years old.
  • a conviction for red-light running.


Why do I have to attend Traffic Survival School?

You may be required to attend a Traffic Survival School for

  • convictions causing the accumulation of at least 8 points, but not more than 12 points, within a 12-month period, with no Traffic Survival School completed in the previous 24 months.
  • a conviction of aggressive driving, moving violation resulting in an accident causing serious physical injury, or moving violation resulting in an accident causing death.
  • the first moving violation of a driver under 18 years old.
  • a conviction for red-light running.


How do I change my address?

You can change your address online. You will be asked to provide your name, date of birth and driver license or identification card number. Address changes are free. There is a $12 charge if you request a replacement driver license or identification card.

When you change your address on our records, it will automatically change the address on your driver-license record and on each vehicle record in which you are designated to receive the registration


What is the difference between a suspension and a revocation?

A suspension has a specific start and end date. When the suspension period ends, you pay the reinstatement fee and any reapplication fees to restore your driving privilege. Revocations are indefinite; there is a minimum length of time, usually one to three years, but the action does not automatically end on that date. You must go through an investigation process to determine whether it would be safe to restore your driving privilege. If approved for reinstatement, there would be reinstatement and reapplication fees.

How can I reinstate a suspension?

The reinstatement process can vary, depending on the reason for the suspension. Court-ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court. Other suspensions may require an SR22. Once any required documentation is obtained, take the documents to your local driver-license facility, and pay the appropriate reinstatement and reapplication fees. A vision screening will be required, and you may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test.

For reinstatement fees, payment may be made in cash, by cashier’s check or by money order. Some offices accept credit cards. Cash and credit card payments are not accepted by mail. No personal checks are accepted.

If you have met all the requirements to reinstate your license except for paying the fees, then you may be able to reinstate online.


When will I need to update my photo?

You are required to update your photo every 12 years. At the end of 12 years, a notice will be sent to you requesting that you visit a driver license facility for a new photo and replacement driver license.

Failure to comply with this request may result in disqualification for certain driver license services, including online services, such as duplicate replacements for lost or damaged licenses


How do I renew my driver license?

You may renew your driver license anytime before the expiration date of your current license.

You must visit an MVD office to complete an application, have a photo taken and pass a vision screening. Begin your application online. If you need to print one, see Driver License / Identification Card Application.

You will submit your current driver license as your primary identification document. If we cannot retrieve your photo, you will be asked for a secondary form of identification. See Identification Requirements for a list of acceptable proof of identification.

You cannot renew your license online.


Will I receive a renewal notice prior to the expiration of my driver license?

No. There is no formal notification process.

Can I renew my license online or by telephone?

No. You must visit a driver-license office in person to complete the application process and have a new photo taken.

What is changing?

Customers purchasing a new or duplicate driver license, identification card or instruction permit in MVD or Authorized Third Party offices will receive it in the mail. At the offices, customers will be issued a temporary credential with their photo. The credentials are also being redesigned and will have enhanced security features.

Where will I receive my new license?

You will receive your new credential at the mailing address you provide on your application. It is important that the address be current, complete and where you receive mail from the U.S. Postal Service. Allow up to 15 days for delivery of the new credential.

Why are these changes being made?

The new process is more secure and designed to protect your personal information to reduce the chances of fraud. In addition, the complexity of the new credential, along with the security features and processes in place, make it impractical to produce the permanent credential in offices.

When do the changes take effect?

The changes became effective June 16, 2014.

If my license is current, can I keep it instead of getting a new one?

Yes. Residents with a valid driver license or identification card are not required to obtain the redesigned credential immediately. Existing credentials will remain valid either until their date of expiration or until a new photo is required after 12 years..

My license is current, but I like the new one. Can I replace it with the new design?
Yes, but you are not required to do so. Assuming you do not need a new photo, duplicate licenses can be ordered online at ServiceArizona.com. Beginning June 16, 2014, all licenses ordered will have the new design.

What is different about this new credential?

A larger primary portrait with a smaller redundant ghost portrait ensuring customer appearance is clearly reflected